Singapore Songs: Purplepaige

PurplePaige

Purplepaige is a Singaporean indie pop band, which I discovered through the fantastic Peachy Little Secrets compilation by Fruit Records. They were a tiny independent record label from Singapore that was active from 2004-2006, championing great pop music to the region. I have fond memories of receiving mix cds from Fruit Records in the mail (out of the blue!), and their wonderful indie pop nights. Hence, I’m forever grateful to Fruit Records for introducing me to the world of indie pop, of which I am still in love with to this day. SEA Indie has a nice interview with Isman (Fruit Records), here.

Like Fruit Records, Purplepaige seems to be no longer active in the local music scene, which is a pity. I wish I managed to catch them perform this song live!

Purplepaige – Suzie On Monday Morning

Portrait of the band is from theheirophant’s Flickr photo stream.

Leave a Reply

