Kitchen Experiments – Apple Pie


There was one night recently when I was in the mood for baking. So I figured, why don’t I try baking something that I’ve always wanted to try – a pie! There were a lot of apples in the fridge, so I thought I’ll try the classic apple pie.

This is the recipe I used, with some extra elaborations because the original was not very clear. Or maybe I am too much of a baking noob because I was confused about why there were two different measurements for water! It’s obvious actually – there are two sets of ingredients, one for the filling, and the other for the pie pastry.

Apple Pie

For the filling:
6 apples
3/4 cup water
sugar to taste

For the pie crust pastry:
125g butter (should be really cold. put in freezer if necessary)
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 egg
2 tablespoons water

1. Peel and slice the apples into a pot with the sugar and water.
2. Bring to boil and simmer until cooked – ie. soft. Drain and leave in the pot to cool.
3. Now for the piecrust. Sift flour into mixing bowl. Add sugar and butter. Rub with fingers until they resemble crumbs.
4. Add beaten egg and water. Mix everything with your hands until they form a dough.
5. Roll out half of the dough with a rolling pan on a floured surface. Cover bottom of greased pie dish with a rolled out pastry. Add the apple mixture to the pie.
6. Roll out the second half of the dough mix as before, and cover the apple mixture with the pastry on top.
7. Crimp the edges with your fingers or a folk, to make sure that both edges of the pastry are sealed together.
8. Sprinkle brown sugar on the top of the pastry.
9. Bake at 180 degrees celsius for 45 – 60 minutes or until brown.

I must say that I did not expect peeling apples to be so tedious. But that was the only tiring bit. The rest of the recipe is quite easy to follow, basically just throwing things together. You don’t even need to take out the mixer! I love the rubbing in method of baking. As long as your butter is really cold, it is a breeze. It took me an hour to get the pie in the oven.

If I bake this again, I will remember to cook the apples longer, so that it is much more soft. The end result was nonetheless yummy, and my brother (who is actually a better cook than me) enjoyed it too. I think it tastes best cold, from the fridge, for breakfast!

After making the pie, I discovered that my mum actually has a Breville Pie Maker! I’ll try making apple pie again in future, this time with the pie maker!

Leave a Reply

