Cupcake Making

I have a love hate relationship with Groupon. On the one hand, it’s awesome because I find deals for the most interesting things I otherwise wouldn’t think I needed. But well, this same point can lead to impulsive spending. Recently I spotted a mini cupcake maker in my daily Groupon emails.

Who doesn’t love cupcakes?  I have long lusted over gorgeously photographed cupcakes in blogs and cookbooks but never managed to bake satisfactory ones. Coincidentally, this Groupon deal arrived just days after I discovered the wonders of Babycakes  products. They have whoopie pie makers! And cake pop makers! In such pretty pastel colors of lavender, canary yellow and pink! *swoon*

So after 30 minutes of deliberation, the Mini Cupcake Maker was mine.

It became clear to me after I examined the box and instruction manuals, that this is a no-brand product. There is no indication of where the cupcake maker was made, no distributor / company name, and the instruction manual makes reference to “attached” recipes (but there are none). I had already predicted this, given the cupcake maker’s low price tag ($28). Given the fact that there are various brands of cupcake makers out there, and because they all seem to look alike, I guess it does not matter after all if my Groupon cupcake maker seems so generic and brand-less. Could it possibly be factory overrun?

So I googled and found instruction manuals for other cupcake makers, that DID include recipes for tiny cupcakes.

Cupcake Maker Recipes (PDFs)

Babycakes Cupcake Maker
Smart Planet Home Cupcake Maker
Pattie Cupcake Maker by Sunbeam
Lakeland Cupcake Maker
Swan Cupcake Maker
Kambrook Little Chefs Cupcake Maker

For the test run, I made banana, oats and peanut butter cupcakes. The recipe is inspired from the Banana and Coconut Cupcake recipe from the Kambrook Little Chefs Cupcake Maker manual but I made some tweakings because I did not have desiccated coconut on hand. I also figured out that the cupcakes need to be in my Groupon machine longer than specified in the original Kambrook recipe. Hence I changed the timing from 7 minutes to 12 minutes. The result is a spongy cupcake that resembles a steamed cake rather than any cupcake I’ve tried. I also like the small portion size, which makes it seem a lot healthier.

Banana, Oats and Peanut Butter Cupcakes

Makes 21 mini cupcakes

1⁄2 cup self-raising flour
1⁄2 cup brown sugar
1⁄4 cup rolled oats
1⁄2 cup banana, diced
1⁄2 teaspoon vanilla essence
1 x 59g egg, lightly whisked
1⁄2 cup milk
1 tablespoon canola oil
3 teaspoons peanut butter

1. Preheat the cupcake maker until the ready light switches on.
2. In a bowl, mix together the flour, sugar and oats until combined.
3. Create a well in the centre and add the banana, vanilla, egg, milk, peanut butter and oil.
4. Fold ingredients through until combined.
5. Spoon a tablespoon of cupcake mixture into each mini cupcake well.
6. Close the lid and cook for 12 minutes.
7. Turn the mini cupcakes out onto a cake rack and cool.

One thought on “Cupcake Making

Leave a Reply

