Jersey Boys!

My mum and I went to see Jersey Boys on Sunday. It was my Christmas present for her, and a present to myself too. Because we both wanted to see Jersey Boys so badly! My mum has been watching Youtube videos of the UK and US cast ever we first heard about Jersey Boys coming to Singapore. And well, I always have loved perfect pop songs of the early 1960s, of which Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons are a shining example.

In fact one of my early childhood memories is actually listening and singing along to this particular song on the radio, in my dad’s car.

Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons – Big Girls Don’t Cry 

I loved every minute of the show, which is not surprising given I already know all the songs. Here is a musical that is far from campy – no singing whilst talking and all that. It’s really like watching a Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons tribute band.

We had excellent seats, scored at a bargain, thanks to the 20% preview offer (only valid for shows from 15 – 18 Nov 2012). We were in the centre, 12 rows from the front, close enough to see all the actors’ faces. It was also our first time at Marina Bay Sands Theatre and I was impressed with the layout and easy accessibility of merchandise everywhere. It reminded me of Madison Square Garden, but on a smaller scale. Most performance venues in Singapore have just 1 single merchandise stand, and you can imagine the queues before and after each show. 

Jersey Boys London perform at The Royal Variety Performance 2008

Leave a Reply

