more home improvement

We’ve been busy looking at household appliances. Stoves, hobs, ovens, fridges, sinks and taps. (for now). I’ve never opened so many fridge doors in my life. It’s getting quite boring. A fridge is a fridge. But this is what happens when you are spoilt for choice.

Also, the hunt continues for an interior designer or contractor for renovation of our flat. Some interior design firms ask you for your preferred “style” when you ask them for a quotation. Correct answers would be in-vogue styles like “Swedish”, “Minimalistic”, “Industrial”, etc. I hate that! Why do I need to pigeon hole myself to someone’s pre-defined “style”, when it can be MY style?

I don’t know how to describe the kind of style I want. All I know is that I want to showcase my collections, clutter and all. Two books I’ve recently read are big inspirations on this front – Living With Books by Dominique Dupuich (my birthday gift from husband), and Perfectly Kept House is the Sign of A Misspent Life by Mary Randolph Carter (a serendipitous find at the library).

Not for me are those sleek and glossy homes that you’ll always find in Home & Decor magazine and condominium showflats. I’d rather have our stacks of books, vinyls, dvds and vintage photos all over the place, thank you very much. (Fortunately for me, the husband shares the same design view as me and gave me full creative control, hooray.)

dp_caicedo-bookshelves_4x3_lg

bookcase-wall

Leave a Reply

