overnight oatmeal!

oatmeal

Meet my new breakfast of choice. Overnight oatmeal! Made thanks to my new obsession for food blogs.

It’s so easy to make! I scanned several recipes until I found a simple one that did not require yoghurt.

I used:
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup soya milk
1 tsp brown sugar
sprinkle of ground cinammon
handful of raisins

And in the morning, I stirred in 1/2 tsp of peanut butter.

Oh my goodness, it is heavenly yummy! I prepared it overnight in my vacuum tumbler flask so that I could bring it to work to eat for breakfast. Happy to say that it lasted the journey and stayed cold in my tumbler 40 minutes later!

In my mind are multiple possibilities for future yummy oatmeal breakfasts – mixed spice… Nutella… more peanut butter… ground ginger… chopped apples… dried mango… chia seeds (I must try this. Apparently when soaked overnight it turns into the consistency of tapioca pearls!)

The best part of eating oatmeal for breakfast – I’m so happily nourished that I don’t feel like snacking before lunch! Neither do I feel so full that I’m drowsy.

Leave a comment